Thursday, September 15, 2016 - 08:30
Professors Chirstina Lee and Bruce Abernethy with winners of the 2016 HaBS Faculty Research Awards.
Professors Chirstina Lee and Bruce Abernethy with winners of the 2016 HaBS Faculty Research Awards.

Professors Jolanda Jetten, Julie Henry and Louise Hickson, and Dr Tegan Cruwys are winners of the 2016 Faculty of Health and Behavioural Sciences Research Awards.

The four high-achievers beat out tough competition in a ceremony presented by Faculty Executive Dean Professor Bruce Abernethy and Associate Dean Professor Christina Lee.

Professor Jolanda Jetten was chosen for the coveted Research Mentorship Award on account of her impressive record of not only mentorship and supervision, but advocacy for female academics.

Since first joining UQ as a postdoctoral research fellow in 1998, the School of Psychology researcher has focused predominantly on social identity and the dynamics of social group relationships.

Commended for the Research Mentorship Award was Associate Professor Tim Carroll of the School of Human Movement and Nutrition Sciences.

Winner of the Research Higher Degree Supervision Award was Professor Julie Henry from the School of Psychology, an expert in ageing, and the neuropathology behind cognition and emotion.

Professor Henry’s accomplishments include being primary supervisor for seven completed PhD students who have progressed to positions in academia.

Commended for the RHD Supervision Award was Associate Professor Kate Sofronoff of the School of Psychology. Dr Sofronoff was unable to attend and her commendation was accepted by Professor Virginia Slaughter.

In the Research Translation Award, Professor Louise Hickson of the School of Health and Rehabilitation Sciences walked away with top honours.

Announcing her award, Professor Lee said Professor Hickson had influenced hearing services in many countries, including Australia, Canada, Chile, New Zealand, the UK and the USA.

Commended in the same category was Associate Professor Stephanie Hanrahan, whose Life Matters program has also touched many around the world.

Rounding out the winners, Dr Tegan Cruwys from the School of Psychology was honoured with the Early Career Research Excellence Award.

The award honours a researcher from the Faculty who was awarded their PhD within the past eight years and made a significant research contribution.

Dr Cruwys’s research shows a particular interest in how social relationships shape health.

Commended in this category was Dr Amir Popat from the School of Pharmacy for his work exploring the design of smart nanomaterials for effective drug delivery.