Our leaders

  • Professor Bruce Abernethy
    Professor Bruce Abernethy

    Bruce is the Executive Dean of the Faculty of Health and Behavioural Sciences. He is responsible for the academic and administrative leadership of the faculty.

  • Professor Christina Lee
    Professor Christina Lee

    Christina is the Associate Dean (Research) and is responsible for facilitating the growth and financial viability of world-class research activities within the faculty.

  • Professor Sarah Roberts-Thomson
    Professor Sarah Roberts-Thomson

    Sarah is the Associate Dean (Academic). She is responsible for strategic oversight of teaching and learning, academic and student administration.

  • Professor Gerald Holtmann
    Professor Gerald Holtmann

    As Associate Dean (Clinical), Gerald is responsible for promoting understanding of clinical teaching and research. He is also Director of Gastroenterology and Hepatology at PA Hospital.

  • Mika Hayward
    Mika Hayward

    Mika is the Director of Health Partnerships and Major Projects. He builds relationships with healthcare and industry partners and oversees major projects.

  • Tricia Williams

    Tricia is the Faculty Executive Manager. She leads the administrative, professional and corporate services within the Faculty.

  • Professor Louise Hickson
    Professor Louise Hickson

    Louise is the Head of the School of Health and Rehabilitation Sciences. She is an expert in the field of hearing impairment and rehabilitation in older adults.

  • Professor Andrew Cresswell
    Professor Andrew Cresswell

    Andrew is the Head of the School of Human Movement and Nutrition Sciences. He is an expert in neuromechanics and the control of human movement.

  • Professor Pauline Ford

    Pauline is Head of School of Dentistry. She is an expert in oral health and its role in general health and wellbeing.

  • Professor Peter Little AM

    Peter is the Head of the School of Pharmacy and recipient of an Order of Australia (AM) for his services to people with diabetes and diabetes research.

  • Virginia Slaughter
    Professor Virginia Slaughter

    Virginia is Professor and Head of the School of Psychology. She is also the Founding Director of the Early Cognitive Development Centre.

  • Professor Helen McCutcheon

    Helen is the Head of the School of Nursing, Midwifery and Social Work and holds a PhD, Master of Public Health and Bachelor of Arts in addition to her nursing and midwifery qualifications.

  • Professor Kevin Thomas

    Professor Kevin Thomas is Director of the newly established Queensland Alliance for Environmental Health Sciences (QAEHS).

  • Professor Jason Connor
    Professor Jason Connor

    Jason is a Professor of Clinical and Health Psychology in the Discipline of Psychiatry and Director of the Centre for Youth Substance Abuse Research.

  • Professor Deborah Theodoros
    Professor Deborah Theodoros

    Deborah is the Director of the RECOVER Injury Research Centre. She is an expert in the field of telerehabilitation and the treatment of speech disorders.

  • Associate Professor Murray Phillips
    Associate Professor Murray Phillips

    Murray is the Acting Director of the UQ Poche Centre for Indigenous Health and an Associate Professor within the School of Human Movement and Nutrition Sciences.

  • Associate Professor Geoff Argus
    Associate Professor Geoff Argus

    Associate Professor Geoff Argus is the Director of Southern Queensland Rural Health (SQRH), the recently established University Department of Rural Health.

  • Professor Alex Haslam
    Professor Alex Haslam

    Alex is a Professor of Psychology with research activities in social and organisational psychology. In 2011 he was awarded an ARC Australian Laureate Fellowship.

  • Professor Jason Mattingley
    Professor Jason Mattingley

    Jason is the Foundation Chair in Cognitive Neuroscience at The University of Queensland. In 2012 he was awarded an ARC Australian Laureate Fellowship.

  • Professor Paul Hodges

    Paul is an NHMRC Senior Principal Research Fellow and the Director of the NHMRC Centre for Clinical Research Excellence in Spinal Pain, Injury and Health.