HaBS Faculty recognises staff excellence

14 Dec 2017
Faculty Executive Dean Professor Bruce Abernethy
Faculty Executive Dean Professor Bruce Abernethy

Academic, research and professional staff who have made outstanding contributions to the Faculty and wider university have been recognised at the 2017 Faculty of Health and Behavioural Sciences Awards.

Excellence in leadership, service and innovation was rewarded with monetary awards for professional staff and tutors, and project funds for academic staff.

The ceremony was presented by Faculty Executive Dean Professor Bruce Abernethy, Associate Dean (Research) Professor Christina Lee, Associate Dean (Academic) Professor Sarah Roberts-Thomson and Faculty Executive Manager, Tricia Williams.

“The strength of our Faculty is reflected by our hard-working and dedicated staff,” Professor Abernethy said.

“This is a fantastic opportunity to recognise our stellar staff who are working across diverse roles and the impact they are having on the operational and strategic endeavours of the university.

“I can see why the judging panel found it difficult to choose a recipient for each category as there was such a high calibre of nominations this year.

“Congratulations to each nominee and award recipient who are all highly deserving winners.”

This year the Faculty celebrated the accomplishments of staff in three categories: Teaching and Learning, Research, and Professional Staff.

The 2017 HaBS Awards recipients are:


Tutor and Demonstrator

  • John Bassett
  • Gianni Ribeiro
Award recipients
  • Marion Carrett
  • Tarli Young

Citations for Outstanding Contributions to Student Learning

Award Recipients
  • Susannah Brady
  • Dr Anna Hatton
Early Career
  • Dr Kana Imuta

Teaching Excellence

Award Recipient

  • Dr Leanne Johnston

ACADEMIC (Research and Teaching and Learning)

Global Engagement

Award recipient
  • Dr Sean Tweedy


Award recipient
  • Dr Norman Ng


Early Career Research Excellence

Award recipients
  • Dr Fiona Kate Barlow
  • Dr Tina Skinner

Research Translation

Award recipients
  • Associate Professor Sally Bennett
  • Professor Kenneth Pakenham

Research Mentorship

Award recipient

-            Professor Gregory Monteith

Higher Degree Research Supervision

Award recipients

  • Dr Pamela Meredith
  • Associate Professor Mark Nielsen



Award recipient

  • Leanne Ritchie

Customer Service

Award recipient

  • David Rogers


Award recipient

  • Audrey Brown

Above and Beyond

Award recipients

  • Cheryl Byrnes
  • Alison Pike

Team Work

Award recipients

  • Faculty of Health and Behavioural Sciences Marketing and Communications Team: Dani Nash, Kirsten O’Leary, Isobel Whiting-Davis, Mohini Mutya, Alice Graham, Loretta Porche, Emma Mackenzie, Caroline Day, Jo Hickman