Community-minded leaders recognised in awards

13 Jun 2018
Matt Sanders
Professor Matt Sanders, Triple P

Dedication to improving the lives of people in the community is a common goal for Professor Matt Sanders, Anne Cross and Derek Tuffield who were recognised in the 2018 Queensland Greats Awards and Queen’s Birthday Honours list.

UQ Triple P  ̶  Positive Parenting Program founder Professor Matt Sanders was recognised for his contribution to policies on parenting and mental health by the Queensland Premier Annastacia Palaszczuk.

Hundreds of thousands of families across Queensland and Australia have benefited from the Triple P program that has been translated into 21 languages and used in 28 countries by more than 76,000 accredited practitioners.

Professor Matt Sanders said he was greatly honoured to receive a Queensland Greats Award.

“It’s fantastic the Queensland Government has recognised the crucial importance of parenting and has made Triple P available free to all Queensland families,” Professor Sanders said.

“Our success with Triple P has been a true team effort involving a sustained commitment of a very talented and dedicated team of researchers at UQ and another amazing group at Triple P International led by Managing Director Des McWilliam who have disseminated the program around the world.”

School of Nursing, Midwifery and Social Work Adjunct Professor Anne Cross AM was recognised in the Queen’s Birthday 2018 Honours List for her service to the not-for-profit sector.

Ms Cross was CEO of UnitingCare Queensland for more than 13 years and over that time she successfully led the organisation through various periods of change and growth to become one of Queensland’s largest and most successful not-for profit organisations.

Southern Queensland Rural Health (SQRH) Board Chair Derek Tuffield was recognised in the Queen’s Birthday 2018 Honours List for his service to the Darling Downs community.

In his SQRH role, the well-known Toowoomba community leader works with board members to bring improvements and innovation to the rural health landscape.

Faculty of Health and Behavioural Sciences Executive Dean, Professor Bruce Abernethy congratulated the award recipients.

“It is great to see these exemplary leaders in their fields recognised for their remarkable contributions across the different sectors,” Professor Abernethy said.

Media: Kirsten O’Leary, UQ Communications,, +61 7 3365 7436, @UQhealth.